Billy Joel themed Marine Rescue!

partenrpartenr Posts: 1
edited 02/10/20 in Off Topic
I'm hoping to get this message to Billy Joel. A person was saved from a perilous situation in the sea on Dec 31, 2019, and the situation has a lot of tie-backs to him.

My name is Capt. Randall Parten. I am a US Navy Veteran and a USCG 100-Ton Captain. I operate an assist-vessel 100 mi. north is Seattle, out of Blaine Harbor, WA. On New Year's Eve, 6 days ago, I heard a "pan pan" call on the VHF radio I monitor in my office at the marina; a paddle-boarder was in the water. 46-degree water. Same outside air temperature. In a gale event with 25-30kt winds.

Here is a link to one of the newspaper accounts: https://www.thenorthernlight.com/stories/local-captain-aids-paddleboarder-who-got-blown-adrift-in-semiahmoo-bay,9203

My vessel is named "She's Got A Way". Positively an ode to my indescribably astounding wife. Secondly, the boat's job description. My vessel comes to the aid of many in distress. The persons who are in peril hear the Coast Guard on channel 16 announce that "She's Got A Way" is coming to their aid. No matter what the threat is to them... she's got a way to safeguard them. Portable pumps, towing, a man-overboard expert (myself), a Master at the helm and a very tough 700hp vessel speeding to their aid. "She's Got A Way" is underway, I announce on the radio when I deploy to help.

There was no-one in the office with me when the call came in about Suzanne, the paddleboarder. But because of a device I invented and recently patented, I can easily affect a man-overboard recovery single-handing. So I got underway and fast.